Algorithmic Number Theory Symposium (ANTS)

Algorithmic Number Theory Symposium

The Algorithmic Number Theory Symposium (ANTS) is the premier international forum for the presentation of new research in computational number theory and its applications, devoted to algorithmic aspects of number theory and related fields, including elementary number theory, algebraic number theory, analytic number theory, the geometry of numbers, arithmetic geometry, finite fields, cryptography, and coding theory.

Steering Committee

The ANTS steering committee consists of the organizers of the five most recent symposia and one member at large. It is led by a Chair and Vice Chair who are elected by the committee to four year terms; after each biannual symposium the Vice Chair becomes Chair and a new Vice Chair is elected.

  • Steven Galbraith, University of Auckland (ANTS XIV)
  • Eric Bach, University of Wisconson, Madison (ANTS XIII)
  • Joshua Holden, Rose Hulman Institute of Technology (ANTS XIII), Vice Chair
  • Jennifer Paulhus, Grinnell College (ANTS XIII)
  • Renate Scheidler, University of Calgary (ANTS XIII)
  • Claus Fieker, Technische Universität Kaiserslautern (ANTS XII)
  • Tommy Hofmann, Saarland University (ANTS XII)
  • Jung Hee Choen, Seoul National University (ANTS XI)
  • Hyang-Sook Lee, Ewha Woman's University (ANTS XI)
  • Everett Howe (ANTS X)
  • Kiran Kedlaya, University of California, San Diego (ANTS X), Chair
  • Andrew Sutherland, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (member at large)
  • Symposia

    Each symposium consists of several invited talks, presenting results of current interest to a broad audience, together with contributed talks chosen through a competitive submission and review process. The Selfridge Prize is awarded to the best contributed paper, as judged by the program committee, and is funded by the Number Theory Foundation.

    The site of the symposium typically rotates between North America, Australasia, and Europe. During the business meeting held at each symposium, bids to host the next symposium are presented; the site chosen by the steering committee is announced shortly thereafter.

  • ANTS XV, University of Bristol, United Kingdom, August 8 – 12, 2022
  • ANTS XIV, University of Auckland, New Zealand (moved online), June 30 – July 4, 2020 (OBS 4)
  • ANTS XIII, University of Wisconson-Madison, United States, July 16 – 20, 2018 (OBS 2, MR3951999)
  • ANTS XII, Technische Universität Kaiserslautern, Germany, August 29 – September 2, 2016 (JCM 19A, MR3540942–MR3540967)
  • ANTS XI, Hotel Hyundai, Gyeongju, Korea, August 7 – 11, 2014 JCM 17A, MR3240793–MR3240818)
  • ANTS X, University of California, San Diego, United States, July 9 – 13, 2012 (OBS 1, MR3207404)
  • ANTS IX, INRIA, Nancy, France, July 19 – 23, 2010 (LNCS 6197, MR2766433)
  • ANTS VIII, Banff Centre, Canada, May 17 – 22, 2008 (LNCS 5011, MR2467865)
  • ANTS VII, Technische Universität Berlin, Germany, July 23 – 28, 2006 (LNCS 4076, MR2281142)
  • ANTS VI, University of Vermont, United States, June 13 – 18, 2004 (LNCS 3076, MR21373436)
  • ANTS V, University of Sydney, Australia, July 7 – 12, 2002 (LNCS 2369, MR2041068)
  • ANTS IV, Universiteit Leiden, Netherlands, July 2 – 7, 2000 (LNCS 1838, MR1850596)
  • ANTS III, Reed College, United States, June 21 – 25, 1998 (LNCS 1423, MR1726058)
  • ANTS II, Université de Bordeaux, Talence, France, May 18 – 23, 1996 (LNCS 1122, MR1446492)
  • ANTS I, Cornell University, United States, May 6 – 9, 1994 (LNCS 877, MR1322704)